An Autonomous Institution Affiliated to Madurai Kamaraj University
  (Re-Accredited with A-Grade by NAAC - 2007)

#139-140, Kamarajar Salai, MADURAI - 625009, India
Tel: +91 452 2311875 / Fax: +91 452 2312375 /


Tamil | English | Economics | Business Administration | Commerce | Mathematics | Physics | Chemistry | Botany | Zoology | Computer Science
Others: M.Sc.Biotechnology | B.Sc.Psychology

Department of Chemistry


The department was established in 1957. It offers B.Sc., M.Sc. and M.Sc. Chemistry (Special) courses. In 2005, it became a Research Centre and started M.Phil. in 2008. Around 30 scholars are working in various areas of Chemistry for their doctoral programmes. The faculty members have received grants from many agencies including the University Grants Commission (UGC), Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) and Tamil Nadu State Council for Science and Technology (TNSCST). The department has signed a MoU with Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Chennai and V-Guard, Cochin. It offers a consultancy service in FTIR (Fourier Transform Infrared) Spectrometer , UV and water analysis as well as Molecular Modeling. Dr. A. Thamarichelvan (The Principal) has obtained a Patent for "Novel nutrient coated granular nitrogenous fertilisers" from the Indian Patent Office, Chennai.

Programmes Offered
  1. Ph.D. Chemistry
  2. M.Sc. Chemistry
  3. B.Sc. Chemistry
  1. M.Phil. Chemistry
  2. M.Sc. Chemistry (Special)
  3. Diploma in Instrumentation
  4. Certificate Course in Industrial Safety
Faculty Click to Add/Edit the profile
  1. Dr.Mrs.A.Suganthi M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D. (H.O.D.) 

  2. Dr.A.Elangovan M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D. 

  3. Dr.P.Tharmaraj M.Sc., Ph.D. 

  4. Dr.R.Sayee Kannan M.Sc., M.Phil.,M.Ed., Ph.D. 

  5. Dr.P.Prakash M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D. 

  6. Dr.Mrs.R.Mahalakshmi M.Sc., Ph.D. 

  7. Dr.A.R.Ramesh M.Sc., Ph.D. 

  8. Dr.D.S.Bhuvaneshwari M.Sc., Ph.D. 

  9. Dr.A.Tamil Selvi M.Sc., Ph.D. 

  10. Dr.T.Arumuganathan Ph.D. 

  11. Dr.K.Selvakumar M.Sc., M.Phil., Ph.D. 

  12. Ms.N.Vimalasundari M.Sc. 

  13. Dr.S.Pitchaimuthu M.Sc., Ph.D. 

  14. Ms.K.Hema D.pharm.,M.Sc., M.Phil. 

  15. Ms.P.Rajam M.Sc., M.Phil. 


Site by