Main Content


    The department was established with B.Sc.Zoology in 1957. M.Sc. in Zoology was started in 1959 and M.Phil. in 1979. B.Sc. Industrial Microbiology was first offered in 1994 and M.Sc. Microbiology in 1998. So far, 24 scholars have been offered a Ph.D. and more are working on various titles. The department has been sponsored by the Department of Science and Technology (DST) and Fund for Improvement of S&T Infrastructure (FIST) since 2008. It has also received major and minor research projects from various funding agencies like University Grants Commission (UGC), Department of Biotechnology (DBT), Department of Science and Technology (DST), Ministry of Environment and Forest (MOEF), Ministry of Environmental Science(MOES) and Tamilnadu State Council for Science and Technology(TNSCST).